Nabeyaki Udon

Nabeyaki Udon

Once again at my favorite local Japanese restaurant, Takumi on a cold day. It was REALLY cold outside and the Nabeyaki just called out to me from the menu. I had to stray from the normal Unadon (eel on rice) to get this hearty soup.

My apologies for the cell phone picture. I need a better quality camera to take to restaurants that isn’t my giant Canon.

The broth is a dashi stock, which is a light fish broth made from bonito flakes, konbu (seeweed), soy sauce, and mirin. It is topped with prawn tempura, kamaboko (fish cake), carrots, green onion, soft egg, chicken, shiitake mushrooms, cabbage, and bamboo shoots. This all sits on top of thick and almost chewy udon noodles. And on the side is my personal favorite, shichimi!!! (seven flavor chili pepper). I put this on pretty much everything and go through these bottles faster than any other herb/spice (including salt and pepper).

I wish there was something else in the picture other than the small shichimi bottle for size reference because this kettle of soup is HUGE! I could not finish it (and I was pretty darn hungry). Similar to eating Pho, this warms you up from the inside and made the cold weather almost non-existent.

And for $11.50 with a salad during lunch, you can’t go wrong 🙂

Comment here...

